From behind the WorldSnowboardGuide
Tales of independent publishing

A window on my world

First blog, first post. I’m sure everyone starts their blog like this, but I’ve been meaning to do this for quite a while now.  I guess a combination of an amazing winter season, and a genuine if bizare fear about what could happen when i start spouting all the things that are inside my head has kept me away from starting this, but here we go.

I’ll kick off by explaining the point of this, or rather what i’m not trying to do. This isn’t going to be a tale of where i’ve been snowboarding this season, in fact i’ll probably hardly mention anything about the sport I love. This is going to be about the business of running WSG Media; biting off far more than I can chew, running to stand still, scratching around for cash, but not wanting to change a single thing about this stupid choice i’ve made.

I really want to talk about what it is like to develop and run a website like the worldsnowboardguide, to independently produce and publish books, and still have to do normal work for a living. There’s so many things i’ve learnt over the last 5 years i’ve been doing this, and far too many things i’d wish i’d known before i’d taken on this venture.

As the winter season draws to a close, the real work has begun. As part of the new masterplan, WSG is set to produce 2 books this year, and many changes to the worldsnowboardguide are planned. It’s going to be a frantic time and not only will I be writing about the whole internal process but hopefully i’ll be getting some feedback from you to help me on my way.

No Responses to “A window on my world”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

